A Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward (Hardcover)

A Living Lens: Photographs of Jewish Life from the Pages of the Forward Cover Image
By Alana Newhouse (Editor), Pete Hamill (Introduction by)
$39.95
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Aug 3 5:03pm
(Coffee Table Book)

Description


The finest photographic account of Jewish life in America.


This extraordinary volume features classic photographs of the history one has learned to associate with the Forward—Lower East Side pushcarts, Yiddish theater, labor rallies—along with gems no one would expect. The premiere national Jewish newspaper has opened up its never-before-seen archives, revealing a photographic landscape of Jews in the twentieth century and beyond. From shtetl beauty contests and matchmakers caught mid-deal to the streets of the New World; from diaspora communities and mandate Palestine to the Holocaust, the Soviet Jewry movement, and the emergence of Jewish suburbia; from Paul Muni and Barbra Streisand to Woody Allen and Madonna—this book is a kaleidoscopic array of modern Jewish life. Original essays are included by leading intellectuals and historians, including Leon Wieseltier, J. Hoberman, Roger Kahn, and Deborah E. Lipstadt, plus an introduction by Pete Hamill. A great gift book in the tradition of Roman Vishniac's A Vanished World and Frederic Brenner's Diaspora: Homelands in Exile.

About the Author


Alana Newhouse is the Arts & Culture editor at the Forward. She lives in New York City.

Praise For…


Not only an amazing book, but an invaluable artifact and a work of art.
— Jonathan Safran Foer

If a photograph of the Jewish soul exists, it will be discovered in the metal filing cabinets of the Forward. Until then, we have this book: here is what it looked like, and how it felt, to be a Jew in the Twentieth Century.

— Nicole Krauss

Each picture is worth well more than a thousand words. They provide a window to important times in our history that are long gone but will live in our hearts and minds forever.
— Sid Caesar
Product Details
ISBN: 9780393062694
ISBN-10: 0393062694
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: April 17th, 2007
Pages: 352
Language: English