You Don't Have a Shot (Paperback)

You Don't Have a Shot By Racquel Marie Cover Image

You Don't Have a Shot (Paperback)

$12.99


Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

A queer YA romance about rival soccer players from author Racquel Marie, perfect for fans of She Drives Me Crazy.

Valentina “Vale” Castillo-Green’s life revolves around soccer. Her friends, her future, and her father’s intense expectations are all wrapped up in the beautiful game. But after she incites a fight during playoffs with her long-time rival, Leticia Ortiz, everything she’s been working toward seems to disappear.

Embarrassed and desperate to be anywhere but home, Vale escapes to her beloved childhood soccer camp for a summer of relaxation and redemption…only to find out that she and the endlessly aggravating Leticia will be co-captaining a team that could play in front of college scouts. But the competition might be stiffer than expected, so unless they can get their rookie team’s act together, this second chance—and any hope of playing college soccer—will slip through Vale’s fingers. When the growing pressure, friendship friction, and her overbearing father push Vale to turn to Leticia for help, what starts off as a shaky alliance of necessity begins to blossom into something more through a shared love of soccer. . . and maybe each other.

Sharp, romantic, and deeply emotional, You Don’t Have a Shot is a rivals-to-lovers romance about rediscovering your love of the game and yourself, from the author of Ophelia After All.

"You Don't Have a Shot has every ingredient that makes rivals-to-lovers such a great trope, but it's also so much more. It's a story of grief and loss, of legacy, of culture, of holding the things and people that bring us joy close. I don't think anyone will be surprised when I say that Racquel Marie has done it again: this is truly young adult contemporary at its best." —Jonny Garza Villa, author of the Pura Belpré Honor Book Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun

Racquel Marie grew up in Southern California, where her passion for storytelling of all kinds was encouraged by her friends and big family. She received a BA in English with an emphasis in creative writing and a minor in gender and sexuality studies from the University of California, Irvine. There is, unexpectedly, a C in her first name. She is the author of Ophelia After All, You Don’t Have a Shot, and This Is Me Trying.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250836342
ISBN-10: 1250836344
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English

Praise for You Don't Have a Shot:

A Junior Library Guild Selection

★"Via Vale’s witty and acerbic first-person narration and her palpable passion for soccer, Marie delivers a textured sapphic romp that spins an earned enemies–to–lovers romance amid empathetic depictions of one teenager coming to terms with the effects of her treatment of others, as well as her treatment of herself." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"You Don't Have a Shot has every ingredient that makes rivals-to-lovers such a great trope, but it's also so much more. It's a story of grief and loss, of legacy, of culture, of holding the things and people that bring us joy close. I don't think anyone will be surprised when I say that Racquel Marie has done it again: this is truly young adult contemporary at its best." —Jonny Garza Villa, author of the Pura Belpré Honor Book Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun

"A refreshing, queer coming-of-age story . . . The lively banter and fun cast of broadly diverse characters support a story in which soccer forms the backdrop of a sweet romance and a teen figures out what’s truly important to her. Uplifting." Kirkus

“A fearless and fiery winner. A captivating story of growth, redemption, and the unexpectedly beautiful places we find hope with a romance readers will unanimously cheer for.” —Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions

"Swoony, funny, and full of heart. Racquel Marie did an amazing job showing the magic of the beautiful game, and the place it can have in a teen’s life and that of their family and culture. . .The exploration of grief and how it plays in the family’s dynamics was expertly done." —Yamille Saied Méndez, Pura Belpré Award-winning author of Furia

"Full of heart, You Don’t Have a Shot perfectly captures the warmth of chosen family alongside the thrill of a will-they-won’t-they rival romance. This is contemporary YA at its finest." —Chloe Gong, #1 New York Times-best selling author of These Violent Delights

“With a fun rivals-to-lovers romance and touching moments of found family, You Don't Have a Shot feels a lot like a warm hug in the very best of ways. . .this book is for everyone who’s ever needed a light nudge in the right direction, and managed to find themselves in the process.” —Tashie Bhuiyan, author of Counting Down With You

"A fast-paced novel with a unique protagonist who discovers first love, truths about herself, and takes back the love for soccer she had left behind." —School Library Journal

Praise for Ophelia After All:

"This contemplative coming-of-age is a perfect addition to YA shelves."Buzzfeed

"Ophelia may not have a label for her sexuality, but she definitely gives all the delightful disaster bisexual vibes a reader could hope for as she endearingly bumbles through her identity crisis...Deeply relatable." — NPR

"Marie writes Ophelia and her friends through the hurdles and heartaches of senior spring with charm and insight, giving each character complexity and their varied cultural experiences the space, consideration, and depth they deserve. A feel-good and effortlessly inclusive coming-of-age story that deftly captures the aching tension of queer adolescence."Kirkus

"Filled with realistic elements, this lovely coming-of-age story follows Ophelia as she explores her identity as well as the ups and downs of high school...This touching debut offers an emotional ride that readers will be happy to embark upon."Booklist

"With a lovably messy, flawed cast of characters and a relatable, authentic protagonist questioning her sexuality while going through the pains of growing up and growing apart...Ophelia After All is a welcome breath of fresh air in the YA contemporary genre." —The Nerd Daily

"Debut author Marie. . .shows a wonderful knack for creating sweetly complex relationships...and inclusive portrayals, including aromantic, asexual, bisexual, and pansexual representation—the book never feels like a manual: Ophelia, Talia, and their friends are fully human creations."Publishers Weekly

"Look: The banter in this book alone is enough to develop a deep, life-affirming crush on Ophelia After All. But it is in the deep, loving characterization of Ophelia and her friends that Racquel Marie creates a memorable, boundary-breaking story about identity, friendship, and the messy complications between the two. Utterly remarkable." —Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

"A sweet and tender ode to love and self-discovery.
Racquel Marie's vibrant and insightful prose, and fresh, funny, fearlessly vulnerable characters make for a beautiful debut you won't want to miss. Ophelia After All is utterly lovely." —Courtney Summers, New York Times-bestselling author of Sadie

"Bursting with feelings, Spanglish, and authenticity...captures the power and wonder of falling in love with crushes, friends, and the infinite versions of ourselves. I would follow Ophelia Rojas and her unforgettable friends anywhere." —Nina Moreno, author of Don't Date Rosa Santos and Our Way Back To Always

"Ophelia After All is a marvel—a clever and hilarious coming of age story with a beautifully beating heart. This is the novel you hug to your chest after you read the last page." —Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times-bestselling author of A Study In Charlotte

"Ophelia Rojas is the type of character that leaps off the page and directly into your heartOphelia After All is a queer delight through and through." —Leah Johnson, bestselling author of You Should See Me in a Crown

"Marie’s debut YA novel adds more welcome queer and multiracial Latinx leading characters to the teens-coming-of-age canon. . .While this engaging story will especially resonate with individuals who share the protagonist’s identities and who seek to see themselves reflected in the stories they read, Ophelia is highly relatable as a soulful and eccentric individual who tries to find her way and reclaim a clear sense of who she is." —Horn Book