I'm Not Dying with You Tonight (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $16.19
(Save: $1.80 10%)
On Our Shelves Now
6 on hand, as of Nov 29 3:40pm
(Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


This young adult novel, told in alternating voices by two different authors, follows a black and a white high school student thrown together during a race riot which erupts at a football game. These unexpected companions share an edgy, eventful night which is as exciting as it is insightful. I’m Not Dying with You Tonight explores the themes of race relations, police violence, and protest and looting in a manner sure to connect with a teen audience. Thought provoking without offering easy answers, entertaining  without being trite, this book is a great choice as a gift.

— From The Holiday Twenty

Description


The New York Times Bestseller

"An absolute page turner, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight is a compelling and powerful novel that is sure to make an impact. " --Angie Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of The Hate U Give

An NAACP Image Award Nominee, I'm Not Dying with You Tonight follows two teen girls--one black, one white--who have to confront their own assumptions about racial inequality as they rely on each other to get through the violent race riot that has set their city on fire with civil unrest.

Lena has her killer style, her awesome boyfriend, and a plan. She knows she's going to make it big. Campbell, on the other hand, is just trying to keep her head down and get through the year at her new school.

When both girls attend the Friday-night football game, what neither expects is for everything to descend into sudden mass chaos. Chaos born from violence and hate. Chaos that unexpectedly throws them together.

They aren't friends. They hardly understand the other's point of view. But none of that matters when the city is up in flames, and they only have each other to rely on if they're going to survive the night.

This book is perfect for:

  • Sparking conversations about prejudice and the racial tension that exists in America
  • Parents and educators looking for multicultural and African American books for teens
  • Fans of Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, and Jason Reynolds

Additional Praise for I'm Not Dying with You Tonight:
"A vital addition to the YA race relations canon." --Nic Stone, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin

"An astounding achievement. This novel is an incendiary experience, one that does not shy away from difficult questions about privilege and violence. But Jones and Segal don't hold our hands to provide us easy answers; this is a book meant to be devoured in a single sitting and discussed for years to come." --Mark Oshiro, author of Anger is a Gift

"I'm Not Dying With You Tonight is a powerful examination of privilege, and how friends are often found in surprising places. Jones and Segal have penned a page-turning debut, as timely as it is addictive." --David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author of Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite

About the Author


GILLY SEGAL spent her college years in Israel and served in the IDF. She is currently a lawyer for an advertising agency. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia. Visit gillysegal.com.KIM JONES is the former manager of the bookstore Little Shop of Stories and currently works in the entertainment industry. She lives in Atlanta, Georgia.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781492678892
ISBN-10: 1492678899
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication Date: August 1st, 2019
Pages: 272
Language: English