Extended Holiday Hours! December 1-8 Monday-Thursday 10-6 Friday 10-6:30 Saturday 9-5 Sunday 12-4 

Mrs. Perry's ARC Review Project

Welcome to the Eleventh annual

Mrs. Perry's Class ARC Review Project..

 

...in which Mrs. Perry's 4th Grade class at Cape Cod Hill School in New Sharon Maine reads and reviews ARCs (Advanced Reading Copies) of books which have not come out yet. The kids did a fabulous job yet again. Check out their reviews below! 

Cosmic Commandos Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781101994481
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - July 4th, 2017

Core Audience 7-11

Cosmic Commandos is about a kid with a boring life then he finds a magic ring that changes his life forever.His favorite video game becomes real .He fights a small robot all the way to the boss of the game. But his brother wants to help him and his brother knows that he can’t do it alone. I would give this book a score of 10-10, because the book keeps your interested .Will he let his brother help? Will they win the game or will he run out of energy .Find out the answers and more in this action packed adventure in Cosmic Commandos.

By Thomas

In my opinion Cosmic Commandos is a GREAT book because it is fun, action packed, and interesting. It also is good because (even though it is a carton type of book) the two brothers act like real life people. Cosmic Commandos is a book about a kid with a boring life,who finds a ring in his cereal. He soon finds out that the ring is magical. It changes his life forever. The ring brings him on a crazy adventure in his favorite video game “Cosmic Commandos”. The story goes from fighting one little robot to fighting the king of the game himself! Will he be able to defeat the game before his energy runs out? In this story I think that the message from the Author is that sometimes you need to make friends to defeat challenges in life. I would rate this book with a score of 9-10.

Reviewed by Trey

Jeremy and Justin are two brothers who always fight. Justin is the good one and Jeremy is the naughty one. One day Jeremy found a ring in a cereal box and when he twisted it he became a superhero from his favorite video game. Then he goes on epic adventures. Justin wants to come along but Jeremy won't let him I honestly loved this book because so much thought was put in this book and the detail is amazing. Just how the story went was awesome so I'm giving it a 9 out of 10

By KADEN

This book was amazing! In the beginning Jeremy tells about his stinkish life and then Jeremy gets a magic ring and fights the bad guys in his favorite video game in real life. First he fights the first level, then second level. Then he fights a jello monster sent by Zorg the bad guy in the game. But I don’t want to give the whole book away. My rating for this book is 10-10 because the characters are amazing and funny. He may be a little mean to his brother in the beginning but he cheers up in the end. You definitely should put this book on sale. I think this book's purpose is to tell that even though a person gets more attention you still mean something to the world .

Reviewed by:Tyler


Max Tilt: Fire the Depths Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062441003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 3rd, 2017

Max Tilt’s mom is in a bad condition at the hospital. His parents go and don't tell Max about it. They hire his cousin from Canada Alex to baby sit Max. Max soon finds out his Mom needs medical treatment. There are a lot of bills to pay. So Max and Alex have a huge lawn sale. During the lawn sale Alex and Max see a paper that says the power company will shut the power off yesterday.Alex and Max go up into the adic then the power shuts of. Max tries to turn it on but nothing happens.In the attic Alex discovers a hidden room behind the wall.They find a chest there that Alex said would be worth a lot. The next day two people named Niemand and Rodolph come to buy the chest. Niemand says he will buy it for $1000 He says he would give them another $1000. Max goes under the coffee table and ties Niemand and Rudolph's shoe laces together so when they walked they would fall and they did. Rodolph tried to attack them but Max and Alex dashed out the door and drove away. Max counted the money and it was $200 not $2000 They snuck onto the SS Sibelius by pretending to be luggage.That's all I can tell you if you want to find out more then just read Max Tilt Fire the Depths. In my opinion this is a really good book I would give it a 10. PS I would really give it a 100. The reason why I would give this book a 100 is because how Max and Alex escape the Police of the SS Sibelius and keep finding clues to get to the famous Jules Verne's treasure.

NATHAN

 


Lights, Camera, Middle School! Cover Image
By Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780399554384
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 4th, 2017

Babymouse wanted to become famous in middle school and there were clubs you could sign up for. She chose film club and some of her friends joined too. Babymouse and her friends worked on the film after school. They talked about the film during lunch. They worked on the film a lot then it was done and Babymouse just had to edit it. In the end it was time to show the film. And that is all I am going to tell you because if I tell you more what is the point of reading it. In opinion it is a good book because she wanted to be perfect but in the end she learns that you don’t need to be perfect because people make mistakes and it is ok to make mistakes. I give the book a 10 out of 10.

By Emma


Broken Pride Cover Image
By Erin Hunter, Owen Richardson (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062642028
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 6th, 2017

There is a lion cub named Fearless his pride gets taken by a lion named Titan. Titan wants to kill the cubs and Fearless runs away and gets carried off by an eagle. A baboon tribe takes him in. Later the baboons cast him Fearless out. Fearless finds a lion named loyal they become friends. Ferales finds his lost pride he makes a deal with Titan but titan makes him stay. I thought this book was amazing! I liked the adventure and mystery. I also like how the animals have names based on their personality and how they talk in different languages. I would give this book a 10 out of 10.

By Elias


Nutcracked Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399556685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 26th, 2017

Core Audience 10-14

This book is about a girl named Georgie who tried out to be Clara in the Nutcracker and got second cast. But her best friend Kaitlyn didn’t get any part and in the future caused friendship problems but that is a minor problem compared to now. Every time she dances with the Nutcracker she is transported to this magical world where the Mouse King has trapped the Nutcracker. Can she save the Nutcracker and is this the beginning of her problems? If you don’t help people something bad could happen. But if you do help you can make everything right. I love this book! Every time she goes into the magical I feel like I’m in the there too. Also every time I read the book I’m so into it that when I’m done reading I have say ok now I have to go back to reality. So I give this book 10 out of 10.

By Keyra Cushman


A Dog Like Daisy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062463241
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 13th, 2017

Core Audience: 8-14

I think that this book is amazing because Daisy the dog in the book learns how to become a service dog. She learned how to heel, sit, stay, and do what she is told to do. I learned that it is very hard to be a service dog because you are on duty for 24 hours straight. You have ten weeks to train until the test you would have to take so you can become a service dog. I would give this book 10-10. It was told from a dog’s point of view. We can learn from Daisy that everyone can be as useful as a service dog but it takes hard work.

By Bode


Watchdog Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524713843
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - October 10th, 2017

I am reading “Watchdog” and it’s about two homeless children named Tara and Vick. Tara has a little watchdog named Daisy. There is an evil man named stripe who has a big watchdog named Tiny. I think this gets a 9 out of 10. This book is very interesting with robot dogs and children living on a roof. I really don’t want give away much more so you will have fun reading it.

By: Daric


Emma Moves in Cover Image
By Clare Hutton, Helen Huang (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338114997
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - August 29th, 2017

Emma is a girl who is going to visit her cousins Natalie and Zoe. Emma is very happy to see her cousins because she never sees them except for Christmas. But Emma was upset because they did not get to do a lot and they will not see each other until Christmas. I really liked it when Emma found out that she was moving so she could see her cousins. I think the message in this book was that even if you're with friends or family you always belong. I would give this book a 9 out of 10 because it was a very detailed book. I would give it a ten out of ten but some parts were confusing but overall I really liked this book.

by Anglee


Beatrice Zinker, Upside Down Thinker Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781484767382
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - September 19th, 2017

I think that the book Beatrice Zinker the Upside Down Thinker is a great book. If you are silly like some people or had to try to get your friend back then you can probably relate to this book. Beatrice is a girl and has a best friend named Lenny with a plan called Operation Upside Down. Beatrice and her best friend named Lenny came up a plan called Operation Upside Down where they would look for subjects to be upside down thinkers with them and get a reward just like Beatrice and Lenny. On the last day of second grade Beatrice got a reward from her teacher who thought her way of thinking was silly in a good way and unique. For example she does headstands in the middle of class. Beatrice and Lenny also came up with a plan called Operation Upside Down where they had to wear their Ninja suits to keep under cover when picking subjects.On the first day of 3rd grade they were supposed to wear their Ninja suits for the upside down plan but Lenny didn’t. Lenny was gone the whole summer and she was different in many ways when she came back. One thing that was the most different was she had a new neighbor and best friend named Chloe which made it hard for Beatrice to get Lenny back.But in the end Lenny got to stay with Chloe and Beatrice got her partner and best friend back. I would rate this book a ten out of ten. It is easy to read,understand the words and it is silly.

By:Leah Dill


The Crims Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062494092
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: HarperCollins - December 5th, 2017

“Keep your enemies close, your family closer, and your friends in a dungeon.” Big Nana-Imogen’s grandmother This book is good (to me) because it is funny, realistic, and is like a mystery. The Crims is about a girl named Imogen who does not like crime and actually goes to school, and comes from a family of criminals.But when Imogen's family gets framed and Imogen gets kicked out of school Imogen must get her family out of jail and get back to her rightful spot (in school). Will Imogen get her family out of jail I don’t know? You should find out. I think that the author wrote this book to tell people that even if you think that something is bad it can also turn out right. I rate this book 7 out of 10. Parts of it were confusing, like the names, but most of it I got.

By Ella


Wedgie & Gizmo Cover Image
By Suzanne Selfors, Barbara Fisinger (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062447630
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 22nd, 2017

Wedgie & Gizmo is a book about two families that comes to live with each other. Both sides of the family have a pet, a hamster and a dog, the hamster Gizmo and the dog Wedgie. Gismo is a diabolical evil genius who wants to take over the world but super Wedgie won't let him, even if he doesn't know he is thwarting his plans. So Gizmo has to get rid of him, he tries again and again and again until… I thought this was a very good book because even a small problem is exciting. This book is very creative in making bad situations, I could never have come up with all the things that happen in this book, someone put a cape on Wedgie so now he thinks he's a superhero I thought the book had great characters (Mom, Jasmine, Jackson, Abuela, Wedgie, Dad, Elliot, and Gizmo (etc.)) and a great story. As a rating I give this book a 7-10 (10 highest 1 lowest). I hope this is the start of a great series.

Reviewed by Brandon


The Tiny Hero of Ferny Creek Library Cover Image
By Linda Bailey, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062440938
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - June 20th, 2017

This book is about a little green bug trying to save his Aunt Min. The Tiny Hero is really funny. This book is about the tiny green bug named Eddie who lives in a crack in the school wall. Eddie is worried about Aunt Min who is also a little green bug, not coming back from the library. On his way to the library a big spider comes near him and almost eats him but then the “Squisher” comes and scares away the big spider. The bug call the kids Squishers. Eddie has to be really brave to be able to travel that whole way to the library. I think this book was the best one that I’v read all school year. Linda Bailey, I think you have a great sense of humor. I think I want to write my own funny book. You made me start thinking that if a little green bug, Eddie, can walk that far to find his Aunt Min, than I can run a 5K. I give this book a rating of 10

Reviewer: Jesslyn


Ben Franklin's in My Bathroom! Cover Image
By Candace Fleming, Mark Fearing (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781101934067
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Schwartz & Wade Books - September 26th, 2017

Olive and Nolan Stanberry are eating their cereal when a radio shows up on their porch. They open it and when they turn it on, everything is blurry. When they can see clearly again, you won’t believe who’s there. All of a sudden, Ben Franklin is standing in the Stanberry family’s kitchen. This amazing book is about how Ben Franklin somehow time traveled through an old radio and unfortunately, Ben is very curious and wants to explore. Nolan wants to keep Ben a secret from Tommy Tuttle, a trouble making spy and get him home safely. Olive and Ben sneak out and do odd things including giving swimming lessons, driving a firetruck, almost getting arrested, and Ben telling stories about himself at the library. In this book, Nolan and Olive have to keep Ben a secret, figure out how he got there, and get him back to his own time. I love this book because it makes you laugh with all the interesting and adventurous characters while giving you interesting facts about Ben Franklin. The only thing I would recommend on changing about this book is the title because he is only in the bathroom for a short period of time in the book. Other than that, it was one of the best books I’ve ever read and I’d give it a nine of ten rating.

Reviewed by Leyani


Marge in Charge Cover Image
By Isla Fisher, Eglantine Ceulemans (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062662187
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 3rd, 2017

I like this book because it’s funny. Marge, the babysitter, is wonderful because she makes up her own rules. She babysits for Jemima and her brother Jakey. Their mother has her rules on the fridge for them Marge crosses them out. She says, “Let's make more dinner rules”. Then she takes off her nanny jacket and she takes off her hat. She turns into cool teenager. Marge is a happy, funny, women with rainbow hair. I remember that Marge loves to have fun.She had a supper party with Jemima and Jakey. Marge went in their mom and dad's room and had a dress up party at the same time.Then the house was so messy that you could not even see the floor.I’ll let you find out the rest. My rating for the book is 10 because is really funny and wonderful you should read it.I think the authors trying to tell us that you should have a imagination, and to be true in yourself By Alexis